2017-18 Jackson and Wehlau Award Winners


The Department of Physics and Astronomy is proud to present the 2017-18 winners of the Jackson Scholarship and the Wehlau Award.

The Lillian Margaret & Walter David Jackson Scholarship in Physics is awarded annually to a Masters or Doctoral student in the Physics graduate program. This year’s recipient is PhD candidate, Sayantan Auddy.

Sayantan is a genuine scholar. In four years at Western, he has seven papers in print, press, or submitted, including three first-author papers. Sayantan is also an active member of the P&A Graduate Council and has been one of the main movers in organizing multiple ping pong tournaments and potluck luncheons. Sayantan can always be counted upon to take on tasks with dedication, responsibility, and a smile.

The William H. Wehlau Award is presented annually to a student in the Master's or Doctoral program in Astronomy. This year’s recipient is PhD candidate, Shannon Hicks.

Shannon is a natural leader and organizer in her research group. She is excellent with the lidar equipment, and will be applying a new technique to make a significant new database for atmospheric water vapour. In addition to academic and research excellence, Shannon has done exceptional outreach work for the Department and the broader scientific community.

 Congratualtions to both of our outstanding award winners!

Published on  and maintained in Cascade CMS.