Western University Physics adn AstronomyWestern Science

Astronomy Seminars from 2001 - 2002

DATE/TIME SPEAKER TITLE/Host
2002
JOINT ASTRONOMY & PHYSICS TALK
Fri. Jan 11
1:00pm Rm 123
Dr. A Gopakumar
University of Guelph
Gravitational waves from inspiralling compact binaries:Probing effects of eccentricity & spin.
PHYSICS TALK
Wed. Jan. 16
1:00 pm Rm 123
Dr. Penny King
Earth Sciences
University of Western Ontario
Evolution of the Atmosphere and Oceans on Mars
Thurs. Jan. 17
4:00pm Rm 213A
Dr. Jean-Pierre St.-Maurice
Department of Physics and Astronomy
University of Western Ontario
How does the solar wind interact with the earth's magnetosphere?
Tues. Jan. 22
2:00 pm Rm 123
JOINT PHYSICS & ASTRONOMY AND EARTH SCIENCES DEPARTMENTS
Dr. Guy Consolmagno, SJ
Vatican Observatory Research Group
Steward Observatory, University of Arizona
Are Asteroids Fluffy?
Thurs. Feb. 7
4:00 pm Rm 213A
Dr. Takahiro Kudoh
University of Western Ontario
Numerical simulation of magnetically driven jets from accretion disks
Thurs. Mar. 14
3:00 pm Room 137
CAP LECTURE
Professor Alison Sills
Department of Physics and Astronomy
McMaster University
When Stars Collide
Fri. Mar 22
Rm 137 3:00 pm
Dr. John R. Percy
University of Toronto
Astronomy Education for the 21st Century
Undergraduate and Graduate students welcome
Thurs. Apr. 4
4:00 pm Rm 213A
Dr. Michel Fich
University of Waterloo
Recycling the Milky Way
2001
Fri., June 8 - 2:00 pm Dr. G. Mathys
European Southern Observatory
ESO's Very Large Telescope:  the first two years of science operations
Tues., Sept. 11 -
4:00 pm
Dr. Peter Cottrell
University of Canterbury, New Zealand
The Southern African Larger Telescope (SALT) - a condiment for the 21st Century
PHYSICS TALK
Wed., Sept. 26 -
1:00 pm
Dr. J. J. Kavelaars
McMaster University
Tracking the Formation of the Solar System
PHYSICS TALK
Wed., Oct. 10 -
1:00 pm Rm 137
Dr. Virginia Trimble
University of Maryland
University of California
Astrophysics faces the millenium
Wed., Oct. 10
7:30 pm
THE ELIZABETH LAIRD LECTURE
Dr. Virginia Trimble
University of Maryland
University of California
Cosmology: Man's Place in the Universe
Thurs., Oct. 11 - 
4:00 pm

Dr. Virginia Trimble
University of Maryland
Unversity of California
Archaeoastronomy: Past, Present, and Future
PHYSICS TALK
Fri., Oct. 26 -
1:00 pm
Dr. James DiFrancesco
Berkeley (University of California)
Revealing the Earliest Stages of Stellar Formation through Millimeter Interferometry
Thurs., Nov. 8 - 4:00 pm Dr. Lee Anne Willson
Iowa State University
Miras and the Ultimate Fate of the Earth

Thurs. Nov. 22
4:00 pm

Dr. Patrick Durrell
Pennsylvania State University
Intracluster Stars in the Virgo Cluster
Thurs., Nov. 29 -
4:00 pm
Dr. Steve Federman
University of Toledo
Isotope Ratios in Interstellar Space